Years Ending With …

Sun, 20 July 2014

So Germany have won the World Cup. Which means that, since the resumption of the World Cup after World War II, they have won every World Cup held in a year ending with the number “4”, except for 1994 (winning it in 1990 instead). Germany (or West Germany before re-unification) have won the World Cup in 1954 (in Switzerland), 1974 (in West Germany), 1990 (in Italy) and now 2014 (in Brazil).

Which brings me back back to an old superstition – Spurs winning the FA Cup in years ending with the number “1”:
Read the rest of this entry »


Alternating English Titles

Tue, 13 May 2014

Incidences of English clubs retaining the title are fairly well-documented and easily listed.

Not so easy so spot are periods where 2 clubs alternated in winning the title. It includes the last 4 seasons (including the one just concluded), with the two Manchester clubs alternating.
Read the rest of this entry »


Englishness Of The Premier League (Or The Lack Of It)

Thu, 10 October 2013

On BBC News:

“Foreign footballers now appear in almost two thirds of minutes played in the Premier League ….

A BBC Sport study has calculated the total minutes played by each nationality in the English top flight, ….

English players made up the highest percentage of minutes played in the Premier League at 31.8% of the total, with French players second and Spanish third.”

Read the rest of this entry »


Years In The Fourth Tier

Wed, 22 May 2013

With the relegation of Hartlepool United from League One, three of the four clubs that have spent the most number of seasons in the fourth tier of English professional football are back there.

The club with the most number of seasons in the fourth tier, Rochdale, are also only recently returned, having been relegated from League One the season before.  Rochdale also hold the record for the longest continuous spell for any club in the fourth tier – 36 years from 1974 to 2010, which was brought to an end by their promotion in 2010 followed by two seasons in the third tier.

Below is a list of clubs that have spend 20 or more seasons in the fourth tier since it was formed in 1958:

Read the rest of this entry »


FA Cup Final Scores

Sun, 12 May 2013

Manchester City’s 0-1 loss to Wigan Athletic in yesterday’s FA Cup Final means that of the 10 finals they have been in, 5 or 50% have ended 1-0.

That is a higher proportion of 1-0s than for any other club that has reached 9 or more FA Cup finals.

Read the rest of this entry »


FA Cup Final 2013 – Manchester City v Wigan Athletic

Sat, 11 May 2013

Moving away from the distraction of David Moyes replacing Alex Ferguson at Manchester United, three weeks ago, I noted:

The cup finals in England, Spain and Italy this season all involve two clubs from the same city/metropolitan area – all Madrid final in Spain, all Rome final in Italy and all Greater Manchester final in England.

Double checked, and Wigan is part of the Greater Manchester metropolitan county, but not part of the Greater Manchester urban area.

Read the rest of this entry »


Replacing Alex Ferguson

Fri, 10 May 2013

My first reaction, yesterday:

The press have appointed David Moyes as Ferguson’s successor. Will he follow in the footsteps of Wilf McGuinness or Frank O’Farrell?

Man Utd would be better off trying to coax Jupp Heynckes out of retirement, as least for 3 years. You need an experienced and successful interim between a legend and younger man for the long term (and Moyes isn’t it) – if nothing else, to the reduce the immediacy of the shadow that will be cast.

Read the rest of this entry »


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.